Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | April 10, 2012

A-Z: Interview with a Vampire

Ohhhhhhhhhhhh my oh my oh my!!  Brad Pitt…Antonio Banderas…Tom Cruise…yum yum yum yum!!!   Do I need to say anything else?  Aren’t they enough to just go grab Interview with a Vampire and enjoy?  hmmmmm…I think so!!  But, I will give you a taste of what the movie is about…just to get you even more interested!

Vampires.  Period.  That’s what this movie is about.  Oh but wait, not the sparkly kind…lol…oh no, these vampires didn’t sparkle in the sun – they stayed away from the sun.  They did however, enjoy fresh blood.  Not bagged or animal blood – well wait, I think Louis (Brad Pitt) did eat rat blood…but I digress…

200 years after he was turned into a vampire, Louis de Pointe du Lac (Brad Pitt) tells his story to reporter, Daniel Malloy (Christian Slater).  He agonized over not having been given a choice and goes into great detail on how he spent the past 200 years.  The love/hate relationship between him and Lestat de Lioncourt (Tom Cruise).  The heartbreaking loss of little Claudia (Kirsten Dunst).  The bitter betrayal of Armand (Antonio Banderas).

This movie is filled with sadness, laughter and leaves you pondering the question ‘what would you do if given the chance of immortality?’  Would you beg for death like Louis did?  Or would you be happy to live forever, even if it meant taking the life of another?


Responses

  1. […] A-Z: Interview with a Vampire (poolsidemusings.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. Great review. You shed some new light on this movie for me. But personally, this movie just didn’t do it for me. The plot lacked direction in general and left me feeling unsatisfied. I will say the vampires were classy and suave, but I don’t think that’s enough to make a compelling movie.

    I also got the chance to review this film on my Horror Movie blog. I could always use some feedback from other critics if you get the chance. But keep up the good work.

    http://horrormoviemedication.blogspot.com/2013/03/interview-with-vampire-vampire.html#view

    Like


Leave a comment

Categories