Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | April 4, 2012

A-Z: Dirty Dancing

Ohhh yes!!  Another ’80’s classic!!  Who doesn’t love Dirty Dancing!!??  I mean – c’mon!!  You’ve got Patrick Swayze (yum!!) starring as Johnny Castle, a hot dance instructor and Jennifer Grey as good girl Frances “Baby” Houseman, who falls head over heels in love with him.

It’s summer, 1963 and the setting is an upscale resort in New York’s Catskill Mountains.  Baby comes from a privileged family.  She is the sweet daddy’s girl while her sister, Lisa, is the pretty one.  Baby is expected to follow in her father’s footsteps so when she falls in love with the dance instructor, her family is not pleased.

Johnny is from the other side of the tracks.  He’s a drifter – going from one dance gig to another with his partner, Penny.  He and Penny both practice ‘don’t get involved’ with their clients, but, Johnny can’t help falling in love with Baby.  She shows him that there is more to him than just being a dance instructor.

Throw in an illegal abortion that her father unknowingly paid for, a couple that steals from various resorts, a jealous jilted lover and you’ve got the makings for an awesome attention grabbing story.  The music is hip shaking and the dancers are young and hot; you can’t help but want to get up and have the time of your life.


Responses

  1. My sister used this film to torture me! I do like it now and used to relate to Baby but I hated it for about 10 years because of being forced to spend a summer watching it on loop. Great post!

    Like

  2. I remember seeing that movie in the theater simply because it was a double feature with ‘The Princess Bride’. I didn’t have the first clue what it was about… but I was mesmerized. I have two left feet when it comes to dancing, so I loved every bit of that movie.
    Great memories!

    Like

  3. oh, this was a great movie!

    found you on the a to z, can’t wait to read what you write next. will be back!

    feel free to take a peek at my blog if you have time:
    http://mothersofbrothersblog.blogspot.com

    best,
    MOV

    Like

  4. A definite family favorite in our home! Nice to be able to watch it anytime we want, thanks to Netflix:)

    Like

  5. Now THIS one I’ve seen. Not a bad movie, but I never could quite understand what all the fuss was about. However, I have to admit that it seems to have left its mark on our culture. Nobody puts Baby in the corner!

    Like

  6. Hi Elisabeth! Thanks for stopping by my blog, SewAlluring.com! I LOVE Dirty Dancing… it’s one of my favorite movies 🙂

    Like


Leave a comment

Categories