Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | January 12, 2016

The Goblin King

The year was 1986. I was only 14 – I had just lost my Dad the year before. I had “inherited” a newspaper route from a neighbor who was like a sister to me. I was all about boys. And writing . And boys. I missed out on seeing ‘Labyrinth’ in the movie theatres. I think I first saw the movie on tape. I fell in love. I eventually wore that tape out. Had to get another one. Anyone who knows me knows I LOVE this movie. I can recite most of the lines by heart – dd hates when I do that during the movie but she laughs and shakes her head. Mom just being Mom. When I go to cons, I love seeing the characters cosplay. I always wanted my wedding dress to be like Sarah’s.

A massive blow to the heart. My teen years were spent watching, loving and dreaming about the Goblin King…aka David Bowie. The Goblin King got me thru many rough days – days that all I wanted was for him to come and take me away to his castle beyond the Goblin City. While most girls were dreaming of Prince Charming, the Goblin King filled my dreams and that whole world became my fairy tale.

Yesterday morning I woke up to a text message ‘Sorry about Jareth’. I was half asleep and thought it was a text mistake – then I got on Facebook – then I googled for the truth. And as I read the news, my heart broke. Oh I know everyone dies at some point. But, there are some people who in your mind will live forever.

And to me, that will forever be The Goblin King.

david_bowie

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

