Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | December 14, 2015

Holiday Blues?

This time of year is hard on many of us. For various reasons. Work…family…loss of loved ones…weather……money…just the usual every day blah feeling.

I go thru this every year myself. I fight it. I try to fight it. It doesn’t win. Totally. I think living with someone who wasn’t big on the holidays and thought it was just another month made it hard on someone like me who LOVES the holidays. I love the smells…food…lights…music…just the whole season. I love spending time with my family and friends. I love curling up on the couch with my 20 something daughter and laugh over the Christmas movies. I love watching the cats battle the tree and decorations…ok…no, I really don’t like watching that but it is funny…lol…

Living with someone for so many years who didn’t think like I did * did * leave a mark on me. It made me less inclined to decorate and less wanting to do anything cause after all…it’s just another month…right?

WRONG!!! If you know me, you know that the ‘old me’ used to go all out on the holidays and birthdays and whatever else I could think of. I still have a little of the ‘old me’ somewhere in this me. Somewhere deep down the love for the holidays is still there. The bah-humbug-ness of people won’t get me down totally.

The holidays will never be the same without my sister who I lost 8 years ago but, I know she wouldn’t want me to be sad because of her. She used to wrap my presents up in SpongeBob (HATE SPONGEBOB!!!) and she would double wrap/tape my presents so it was harder to open…lol…NOW, my wonderful dd has taken over the annoying present wrapping tradition…lol…

This year, even with no job yet, barely any money, stress overwhelming me, living in an apt and all of my Christmas decorations in storage, I have made an effort to smile more, laugh more, and just DO more with friends and dd. I’m trying…even when in my head it’s dark and the blah mood is there…I’m trying…

Sometimes, it’s the little things we do that make the best memories…

 

 

Responses

  1. These are the times I force myself to fake it until it takes. Hope the spirit bug gets you and you have a wonderful holiday season.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

