Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | November 18, 2015

One Day at a Time…

About a year ago my life took a drastic change. Part of it was my fault. I was hurt and angry and lashed out. Once words left my lips, there was no going back. dd and I ended up moving out of a house we had called home for 15 years and moving into a small two bedroom apartment. During that year, a lot has happened and we have both grown and learned a lot. We are not where I want us to be – yet, but, we are taking one day at a time and are confident that we will make it.

My head is in a different place than it was a year ago. A better place. A year ago, darkness ruled my thoughts and plagued my dreams. I didn’t see a rainbow. I saw storms and hell to be honest. This year has been hell – I’ve been looking for a job since June and aside from sales that pay commissions only, I have had no hits…no nibbles. I’m not going to give up though. If I give up, then that means that life beat me. I’m not down with that. I want more out of life than just memories. I don’t want to leave dd with the thoughts or memories that when things got tough and hellish, her Mom curled up on the bed and let life go by.

No, this is my life. I have survived a lot. I will continue to fight and claw my way out of this situation we are presently in and we will make it. We won’t have the life we had before. It will be better. We will be stronger because of it. Right now, it doesn’t seem possible. I know people who have been thru what we are going thru. And those who have been thru worse. They have made it. We will too.

Leave a Reply

Categories

