Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | November 9, 2015

November = NaNoWriMo

Tons of writers are busy writing this month all trying to reach 50,000 words in the month long challenge known as NaNoWriMo. I’ve actually thought about participating. I’ve even signed up. I’ve stared at the blank screen far longer than I’d like to admit. I just cannot do it. My mind won’t slow down and let me focus. I know we all have things in our lives that keep us on our toes. We all have families that demand our time. Jobs that require our time.

For those that can focus, I bow down to you. I hate excuses. I don’t believe in letting anything hold you back. So, why can’t I sit down and participate with friends in a month long challenge? I’ve done it before – I did the month long blog challenge. Honestly, I don’t know. The blog challenge was rather easy – I picked a topic and kept at it. I was very proud of myself for starting and completing that challenge.

I’ve got so many ideas in my head and they are giving me headaches. I just can’t seem to get them from my head to paper. Not sure if it’s a block. Or if it’s self-doubt. Or if it’s just….blah….winter has always been a dark time for me – I know my life is crazy right now and the thought of starting something new with everything else going on is just rather daunting for me.

The good news? NaNoWriMo will happen again next year…

Good luck to those competing in NaNoWriMo 2015!!!!

Responses

  1. I started Nanowrimo. I even got over 2000 words one day. It was like pulling teeth. The next day I got just over 200 words. I found I was just wasting my time. My muse if not interested in writing right now and I’m okay with that. Once I gave myself permission to not complete Nano – I had energy again and inspiration, just not for writing on my novel. I’ll pick at it until the time to write comes again. It’s okay. I may not win Nano this month but I win at other things.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

Categories

