Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | July 31, 2015

Ranch or Two-Story…

When I was a Realtor, one of the questions I always asked was ‘Do you prefer a ranch or two-story?’. The answers were mixed. I personally prefer a two-story. My Mom prefers a ranch – she didn’t want to deal with the stairs and the dangers that come with them.

I love open staircases – the ones that have a little nook where you can put a table, chair and a lamp – makes a perfect reading corner. I used to live in a two-story house with dd when she was 4 and I was always afraid she would fall down the stairs – I can still hear myself ‘go slow…one step at a time’. I loved the two-story house. The top story was like another house – whatever was going on downstairs didn’t affect me upstairs. If I wanted to mingle with the rest of the household, I could go downstairs, if I wanted peace and silence I just stayed upstairs. It was great.

How about you? What is your preference?

Responses

  1. It’s going to be a weird answer but I don’t have a preference either way. What I really want in a house is for it to be square – no weird shapes or cutouts. I want the four walls of the house to be straight (it can be rectangular). I hate missing spaces. Right now we have a space at the corner of our place that could be a full room but the designers opted not to square up the space. It makes me absolutely crazy.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

