Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | February 11, 2015

New Home

So, the move from hell is done – lucky for me I had some awesome friends that stuck the last two weeks out with me and my endless boxes and late hours – to them “thank you”.

I can’t begin to express the nightmare that was my move from a three bedroom – 1.5 baths house to a two bedroom – 1 bath apartment. There were days I was hysterical because of the sheer amount of crap I had left to box. I had started boxing things at the end of November and here it was, the middle of January and the house looked like I hadn’t touched a thing!!! I finally had to break down and ask for help and in that form came two females that are soooooo awesome at wrapping and boxing and four guys – two that were my labor guys 🙂 one who had a spacious van that made numerous trips back and forth 🙂 and one who unhooked, packed and hooked up my XBox and stuff – they all tried to make this as painless as possible, and for that, I am grateful 🙂 and of course, dd who made packing her room last the longest lol

Speaking of rooms, my worst room and most dreaded was my office/craft room – I have tons of material and desk stuff and books and papers…sigh…I got into it and then one of the females parked herself in there and just worked magic – everything was boxed up and waiting for me to decide where it was going – unfortunately tons of stuff had to go to storage, but, that’s ok – this apartment is a temporary stop – we will move in a year – but this time, boxing/moving will be for FUN.

So, with the final box loaded into my car, I locked the door one last time and closed a chapter in my life. It was soooooo very hard, I’d be lying if I said I didn’t cry – especially when I said good-bye to a couple awesome neighbors. And as I drove away from the house that had been my home for 14 years, the house where dd learned how to ride her bike, the house I said my marriage vows, the house where I first attempted scuba diving – all these memories – some good and some not so good, but, they helped shape me into the person I am today – flooded my mind, tears threatening to spill.

I drove away from the house, without a look behind me, shutting the door firmly on that chapter of my life.

Where will I go next? On the one hand I’m excited and on the other nervous – petrified really. But, as I keep getting told, I’m strong and I will get thru this.

Responses

  1. Great big hugs to you and your daughter. Glad that the move is over.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

