Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | September 29, 2014

Chibi Neko

So, I have undertaken another endeavor in the con world – ha, yeah, as if my plate isn’t full enough as it is right!?!? lol

Anyways, a couple months ago, dh came to me and told me about Chibi Neko (it’s for kids 10 and younger – part of a local anime con, NekoCon) telling me that it wouldn’t be available this year if no one stepped up to run it – they needed someone reliable to run it. Well, it’s for the kids – right? I couldn’t see them sad and unhappy – right? and seriously, how hard could running this little track be – right?

Ummm…yeah…it’s not so little and oh yes, it’s time consuming and oh yes, yours truly said ‘ok, I’ll do it’ – duhhhhh…when will I ever learn to simply say ‘no’. Period…no ‘maybe’… no ‘we’ll see’ – just good old fashioned – NO.

Fast forward to now. I’ve since gotten staff, planned a schedule (thanks to a friend coming over late one night making me do it…lol) and have quite a few fun activities planned. The theme this year is ‘Down the Rabbit Hole’ (think Alice in Wonderland) so I’ve worked out a Tea Party and Flamingo Croquet Game with another dept, the kids are going to be making their own Mad Hats, Cheshire Smiles and Tissue Roses – white and red of course …lol… I’m also going to have coloring sheets, videos, movie and pj’s and oh yes, a cosplay contest just for the kids in which ALL the kids are winners…smile…oh and I even have the local 501st and the Mercs stopping by to talk to the kids about joining the ‘Galactic Academy’ – that is gonna be awesome!! …lol…

All, I can say is, I hope this year is a success and the kids have an awesome time – the con isn’t til Nov 7th – Nov 9th but still…got more time to finish up the little stuff and make sure everything is ready to go…and yes, I am kinda excited too…lol…

Responses

  1. Sounds like so much fun. While it’s a lot of work, you are going to be so proud of yourself when it’s over (and most likely will want to do it again). Good luck.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

