Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | July 29, 2013

What Motivates You?

I have been asked that question quite a few times in my life. I ponder it…wondering the same thing. My daughter has always been a huge motivation for me – especially during the dark days. She is my constant. However, I realize that puts a lot of pressure on her. She isn’t going to stay with me forever. I need to be able to stand on my own two feet, even when it’s dark.

What motivates me to write? At first I was writing because it was a way of escaping to another world. I loved it. I was addicted to it. Then life got in the way and my writing took the back seat. I seem to have to force myself to write. The stories don’t seem to flow as once they used to. Even though I have a poetry book published, that seems like the cherry on my cake. Like, now that I have a published book, I’m done. Am I? Do I not have any more stories to share? Do I not have any more undiscovered worlds to create? Is the one book of poetry and all the unfinished and almost finished manuscripts all that I have in me?

What motivates me? The desire to succeed. The desire to teach my daughter that anything is possible with hard work. The desire to prove to myself that I can do it. And, let’s be honest, money is a huge motivator.

What motivates you?

Responses

  1. When it comes to art and writing I can’t say what motivates me anymore than I can say why I breath except that without it I cannot live. I barely look past the process into what it might become or do for me because that’s not the point. I have to create.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

