Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | July 11, 2013

Time off from work…

WHEW!!! I decided to take a couple of days off from work since I worked 8 days straight last week.  Yep, I worked straight thru July 4th – nope, no cookout for me, although, I was invited to a couple cookouts thanks to a couple of friends but I chose to work and work I did.

July 4th wasn’t all that busy, work wise – not until 5ish I would say.  Then, the interstate became a parking lot and I found out that several businesses around my neighborhood had closed and roped off their parking lots so nobody could park and watch the fireworks.  That was ok with me and dd – when I got off work, we went to Cracker Barrel for dinner – felt bad cause they were closing at 10pm and we got there at 9:45….oops!! but, they let us order and of course, I was generous with my tip 🙂

Sunday I didn’t work cause I wasn’t feeling good so we went to see ‘Man of Steel’ – I grew up with Christopher Reeves as Superman so I was curious as to how much they would change the story.  They didn’t really.  Henry Cavill made a good (super cute…lol) Superman…and Amy Adams was a delight to watch as always.  I have no real complaints – I went to watch it for enjoyment not criticism and I was not let down.  Although, I do have to say, there was a ton of destruction and I was left pondering terraforming…

Yesterday we went to see ‘The Heat’ with Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy.  I just couldn’t wait for the movie to start because the previews had had me rollin!! Yep, I was laughing so hard I couldn’t breathe at times…lol…I love movies that make you laugh so hard you forget you are in a theatre…ha ha…

Today I am taking dd around for job applications.  Hopefully she will be able to land her first job and start becoming an active member of society. Keep your fingers crossed!!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

