Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | December 30, 2012

Google isn’t always friendly…

You know how you have the faithful card senders?  The ones that every year send out holiday cards like clockwork.  Well, my Aunt was one of them.  She was my late Dad’s sister and an awesome cook and loved to joke and laugh.  Well, sadly I found out last night that she had died on Nov 24, 2012 and her husband had died on Oct 21, 2012.  My cousin (their daughter) never called to tell us.

I thought it was weird that I hadn’t gotten a card from her for Christmas.  Well, last night around midnight I was poking around online and I typed her name in and up popped Google with her obituary.  Talk about a shock!!  I read ‘widow’ and sure enough, up popped my Uncle’s name.

They had died within a month of each other.  I didn’t know what to say or think.  I had remained in contact with my Aunt even after my Mom had broken off all ties after my Dad had died.  I just never went down to NC to see them nor did they meet my dd or dh.  I don’t know why not.  I just never did it.

My Aunt is the reason I make sweet potato casserole every year for Christmas.  Ohhhh she was the best cook!!!  I always loved going to see her – her make-up was always perfect and she kept her house immaculate.  Even though I hadn’t seen her in over 15 years, I remember her fondly and she will be missed.

Leave a Reply

Categories

