Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | October 22, 2012

Selling on Ebay…

Remember when Ebay first came on the scene?  It was like everybody just had to do it!!  I never got into selling on Ebay.  I did buy on Ebay of course, but, didn’t have time to sell and deal with people.

Until Now

I have been selling on Ebay for about a month – nothing major – just a coupla things here and there.  Problem is…I am enjoying it!!  Oh yes, I said that.  Once you get the hang of it, it’s not so bad.  I am curious though, as to how people can offer ‘free shipping’ – I’ve done that twice for two items I sold for my dd, and I had to eat the selling cost….argh!!!

I get the same excited feeling I get when I sell something at the auction house on World of Warcraft…ok ok…stop laughing…I hear you!! YES, I said that…sigh…but, don’t you?  Or even better, the feeling you get when you are bidding on something and it comes down to the last coupla seconds and you swoop in and get it from someone else…lol…yes, that feeling!!  …lol…

So, do you sell on Ebay?  What got you into it?  Do you have any advice for newbies just starting out?

Responses

  1. On eBay, you will normally find free shipping on the stuff from China (arrangements with China Post) or, the stuff is simply marked up high to begin with. I always use a flat rate, to keep it simple, especially when selling electronics, like iPhones etc. $15 flat for a priority mail box (medium) Usually works out just fine. Other stuff, like books, movies, etc, I use media mail to save money on my end, but charge $4 p&h.

    Like

  2. Always include any extra cost in your minimum bid – if you are going to offer free shipping then add that plus the cost to list into the minimum bid (depending on the price you want to receive for the item). I usually take what I want and what I will accept and start somewhere in the middle. Good luck.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

