Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | October 10, 2012

Dragon*Con 2012

Sooooooooooooooooo…a month later and I am all caught up and ready to spill about a FANTASTIC con!!!  I have been to several anime cons over the year and I have talked to many people who said that Dragon*Con was the con for them.  Even after the not so much fun start due to the screw up at the hotel, the weekend was a total BLAST!!!!  I really didn’t know what to expect…oh I knew there would be costumes and artists and a dealers room…it just didn’t dawn on me that there would be celebrities there that I actually liked and oh yes, when I met them, I acted like a total fan girl…sigh…

Dragon*Con was spread out over FIVE hotels.  Three were connected with a tube and I have to admit, I spent more time in one than the other.  The weekend was a whirlwind.  For my first time there I really felt overwhelmed and unprepared – know that feeling!?!??!  I had heard horror stories about the pre-registration line but when we walked in there was no line so we were in and out in less than 5 minutes.  The line to the store on the other hand…not so quick!!  But we were able to get in and out in less than 30 minutes so that really wasn’t too bad.

Thursday was just a get badges and wander around, get a feel for the layout day.  There were some costumes, but not many, but, just seeing those few costumes started the excitement for us.  I think one of the things I liked most about this con is that I actually knew what some of the characters were!!  As opposed to the anime cons where if my daughter isn’t with me to explain, I think the costumes are great but have no idea who or what they are meant to be…still, I enjoy them!!

We never did make it to any of the panels we had selected – although, I think my hubby did make it to the steam punk panel.  Nor did we make it to any of the parties or ceremonies.  We did go on Monday to the Walk of Fame room where I got to meet Anthony Michael Hall (Weird Science and Dead Zone) and Niall Matter (Eureka) – even got my picture taken with them!! YAY!!  What’s really funny, is that, I didn’t realize that the celebrities would be out with the rest of us.  That’s what happened to me on Friday night.  I was at the bar and noticed a man who looked familiar.  I couldn’t place him – nobody that I asked could.  Finally it came to me that he had played an angel in Supernatural.  Thanks to a good friend, who went with me I might add, I went up to him and apologized for bothering him, but, was he the character I was thinking of – he said ‘yes’ – oh wow did the fan girl come out!!  lol …who did I meet?  Yep, Balthazar himself, Sebastian Roche.  He was so very nice and even took a picture with me!!

Dragon*Con parade was Saturday morning – what can I say but WOW!!!  That was just so AWESOME!!!!!  We had friends that walked in the parade so that was kinda cool.  There were tons of Star Wars, Star Treck, Game of Thrones, Spiderman, Batman, zombies…oh my!!!  Dean Cain (Lois and Clark), Lou Ferrigno (The Incredible Hulk), Stan Lee with Superman were all riding on the back of cars.  Oh and there was even the sisters from Hocus Pocus – they were awesome!!!

There were THREE dealers rooms – yes, I said THREE.  Oh my.  There was just so much to look at and so many goodies!!!  Beautiful artwork and jewelry and costumes for every wish.  I even found a FANTASTIC vendor that I just adore – Vamplets – omg are they adorable!!!!!  They are baby zombies, vampires, bats, wolves stuffed animals – so so so cute!!!!  Oh and they even have a (fake) bottle of blood to drink!!!  How cute is that!!!

The artists room was filled with every type of artwork you can think of!! And that’s where I met one of my all time favorite artists, Jasmine Becket-Griffith.  She signed the pieces I bought and she is just such a nice person!!!  She took the time to talk to my daughter about painting and her artwork.

I just can’t say enough about this con.  It was truly an awesome time and I already have my badge for next year!!  Let the countdown begin!!!  Hope to see you there!!!

Thought I would add a coupla pictures 🙂

Goblin King & Sara

Capt Hook, Tinkerbell, Smee and the Alligator

Hellboy

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

