Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | October 9, 2012

Halloween Candy or Not?

I recently saw a friend post a dilemma on her wall (hi Sara!!) about whether or not to give candy out on Halloween night.  I went thru this dilemma myself a couple of years ago and I decided to still give out candy.  I thought about giving out pretzels, apples, toys, etc…but, when I think back on my own trick-or-treating and my dd’s trick-or-treating nights, I remember how awesome it was to have my own bowl of candy that nobody else could (insert was supposed to!!) eat.  My dd loved to get dressed up and after a couple of hours come home, pillow case filled with yummy treats – yes, there were other things inside the bag besides the candy.

Is that the whole point of trick-or-treating?  Or is the night about dressing up in a costume?  What about the kids that are allergic to chocolate or their parents don’t let them eat candy?  I guess I could always have two bowls that night, one filled with yummy chocolate goodness and the other filled with healthy stuff…it really comes down to the parents doesn’t it?

So this year, after much thinking about it, I am still going to give out candy.  What about you?  What do you give out to trick-or-treaters that knock on your door?

Responses

  1. Our neighborhood’s kids are all now teenagers, so Trick or Treating has pretty much gone the way of the Dodo bird. But when we had kids here, I would always give out candy. To me, that’s a Halloween tradition. As far as parents go… many parents here (and I don’t know if it’s Georgia, or just my part of it) don’t believe in Halloween at all. To each his or her own, I say. For me, Halloween is about both the candy *and* the dressing up 😀

    Like

  2. I know we’re weird but my son always preferred the non-candy houses. An elderly couple used to give out apples every year and he made sure we went to that house. When she passed away, the husband gave out candy. That first year my son went there and just looked at the candy he was given. As he walked away he said “let’s not go there again”. The ones he remembers most is the guy who gave out sodas, the elderly man who gave out silver dollars (now golden but same thing), and the couple who gave apples. We don’t eat processed goodies very often and I feel like if I won’t eat it then I shouldn’t give it away. I miss the days of candied apples and homemade cookies (I also remember the lady who gave out quarters). What a dilemma.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

