Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | July 10, 2012

Mt Dew Free!!

Earlier today I was reading a friend’s post (hi Carma!!) and she mentioned that she has been Pepsi free for a month.  Got me to thinking.  I was a HUGE Mt Dew drinker – I probably coulda put my dd thru college with all the money I spent on Mt Dew and Coke!!  rofl

I’ve been Mt Dew free since October 2010.  Took the doctor telling me I was diabetic to get me to quit drinking – I do drink Coke Zero couple times a week, but, no Mt Dew or Coke or Pepsi for me.  At first, it was HARD to not grab a Mt Dew and enjoy its yummy sweetness.  Especially when stressed out or tired and needed a lil boost to get me thru the day.  And I’m sorry, but even flavored water does not equal Mt Dew or Coke…lol…

After a week of headaches from caffeine withdrawal, I found unsweet tea helped.  Then I found Arizona diet tea that tasted sweet so that helped my sweet tooth quite a bit!!  I did try all the diet sodas – didn’t like any of them – did try Sprite Zero and Mt Dew Zero – boy was that a huge let down!! Then I stumbled upon Coke Zero and have been quite happy ever since…lol…

Now, just shy of two years later, a bottle of water is always with me and I don’t have the urge for soda.  I can grab a Mt Dew or Pepsi for someone else without groaning or pouting.  I’ve come a long way since October 2010, but, I won’t lie, sometimes the really stressful days make me wanna say ‘shut the front door’ and grab an ice-cold Mt Dew…lol

So, what is your drink vice?

Responses

  1. My drink of choice is Arizona Green Tea with Ginseng and Honey. I could drink gallons of that stuff 😀
    That being said, I’ve been cutting down drastically and taking in a lot more water instead. (Of course, summers in Georgia make that transition really pretty easy. Dehydrating isn’t anywhere on my ‘bucket’ list.)

    Like

  2. Wow I can’t believe it’s been almost 2 years. I remember you giving it up. I’m not much of a soda drinker but I love my tea. I had to learn to drink it without sugar and cream (just the black stuff never drank herbal with anything). I do like unsweetened tea but up here in Washington drinking sweet iced tea was unheard of when I was growing up. Now McDs and other restaurants are serving it but we’re still big on the unsweetened.

    Like

  3. My drink of choice is 23 flavors of Dr Pepper. Just sounds fattening doesn’t it? It is, very much, and I had to stop. Not much liking the diet side of it so I stick to my coffee and sweet (liberally) tea with a dash of lemon and ice water, of course. Although, bubble pictures of vodka mudslides keeping popping up over my head lately.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

