Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | May 29, 2012

Portion Control to Lose Weight

One of the biggest things I had to learn about when I started walking and losing weight was portion control.  It was one of the hardest things for me to learn.  I enjoy eating!! Who doesn’t right?  Some people eat to live and others are like me, we live to eat.  I enjoy sitting down to dinner and enjoying good food and good company.

So when I decided to cut down on portions, WOW was that just plain agony for me!! I don’t wanna cut down my portion on pasta or bread…I am a true bread and pasta lover.  Now, when it comes to meat, I really don’t care cause aside from hot dogs and hamburgers, I’m not a big meat-eater.

So to help me stay honest and true, I went to the store and found a bunch of easy to measure cups and dishes and just recently found a portion control brownie pan – it’s only 105 calories in each slice!!  Oh yes, gotta get one of those cause I love chocolate brownies – yum!!

I have come to be a firm believer in portion control.  I still eat a candy bar every so often, but, you have to cut back on the amount of food you put on your plate – and don’t go back for seconds!!  I still walk every day and while that does help, I have to say that I think most of my weight loss came from my implementing portion control.

Responses

  1. I’m exactly the same way. I love good food like some people love fine art. Portion control is my biggest struggle and I don’t see myself ever finding it easy to do.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

