Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | April 24, 2012

A-Z: Underworld

Again, take your pick – there are four * I believe * in the series.  And I have enjoyed all of them.  I didn’t realize that one of them was set hundreds of years before the other movies but, once that became clear, I was fine.

The series focuses on Vampires, werewolves and Lycans.  It follows several main characters – Selene (Kate Beckinsale), Viktor (Bill Nighy), Lucian (Michael Sheen), Kraven (Shane Brolly) and Michael Corvin (Scott Speedman).

In the series, the Vampires and Lycans are both biologically immortal.  The Vampires are highly vulnerable to ultra-violet radiation.  Crosses, holy water, garlic and stakes don’t work on them.  Lycans are stronger and faster than the Vampires.  A bite from a Lycan releases the virus which will make the human a Lycan as well.  A bite from both a Lycan and a Vampire is lethal.  I mentioned a virus.  There is a twist to the story about how they were all made – Selene discovers that they (Vampires, Lycans and werewolves) are not supernatural creatures, but rather, the product of a virus.

I would suggest watching them in order, but, I think I would put Underworld: Rise of the Lycans first and then Underworld, etc….but, that’s just me…lol… The movies are fast paced and I didn’t see any lags in the storyline, with the exception of a few ‘oh crap!’ moments, they were all good.

Underworld

Underworld: Evolution

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans

Underworld: Awakening

Responses

  1. I’ve seen the “virus” theme before, and honestly, if I’m dealing with vampires I don’t really need a “scientific”-type explanation. The good old fashioned curse works for me. But… the virus probably does fit the storyline of Underworld better.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

