Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | February 28, 2012

Creativity…

According to Wikipedia – ‘Creativity refers to the phenomenon whereby a person creates something new (a product, a solution, a work of art, a novel, a joke, etc.) that has some kind of value. What counts as “new” may be in reference to the individual creator, or to the society or domain within which the novelty occurs. What counts as “valuable” is similarly defined in a variety of ways.’

That just amazes me.  So basically, creativity can take the form of anything.  Whether it’s my MIA muse finally back on my shoulder, encouraging me to write (something, anything!!) or it’s my newfound interest in sewing stuff together or hey, maybe it could even be when I make an eatable cake!!  lol

Lately, I have been worrying (whining) about my lack of interest in writing.  I met with my writers group last week and I was so proud of them for all the hard work they have done.  Two of them have come so far in their writing and I’m tickled pink at their success.  Me, well, I have done squat.  And I kept trying to analyze it.  I hate winter and am so looking forward to spring!!  Winter tends to squash what little creativity I have.  Well, this past weekend I had a twinge of interest in sewing.  So, my hubby taught me how to operate a sewing machine.  I think I like it – no wait, I like the finished project in my hand!!  I like seeing what I created (even though the seams aren’t straight!!).

Wait, did I just create something new?!?!  WOW!!  I guess creativity does come in many different sizes, shapes and interests!!  So, I guess my muse is teasing me with making something with the sewing machine – hey, I’m writing about it too, so it’s a win win in my book!!

Sew on!!  Write on!!  CREATE on!!

Responses

  1. Nice blog. I think that creativity and the desire to write has times where it’s like an ocean wave crashing toward us and at other times, it’s like a ripple in a pool and other times, it’s just plain still water. But it’s all still water just waiting for the movement ; – )

    Like

  2. Creative feelings do come and go but it seems like the more you push the less you get in return.
    I love sewing as well but I never have a decent seam. I’ve made quilts for my guys that will win me no awards but they love them so that’s all that matters.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

