Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | February 27, 2012

Sewing…

Remember when I said I was gonna learn something (might be several things!!) new?  Well, this weekend I learned how to sew with a machine.  Yes, you read that right.  My hubby (yes, my hubby!!) taught me how to use the sewing machine.  It’s not quite as easy as I thought!!  Ya gotta pull this knob on the side out to thread the machine and then you gotta pull the foot up to put the material under – although I think it worked even with the foot up!  (shhhh!!)  lol  oh and then you gotta wind the bobbin a certain way and then pull the arm back to put it in the machine.

YIKES!! 

This weekend we went to several local fabric stores and I got like 4 or 5 different types of material.  So soft and furry!!  lol  I have been practicing on felt material so I don’t use up the ‘good stuff’ and well, I have found that I totally stink at making a straight line!!  I really really hate the pins!!  lol  and my hubby says I have a heavy foot on the pedal…lol

So anyway, I’m off to try and make something really cool (hopefully)!!  I have tons of awesome material to play with and I have a pretty collection of thread!!  Oh and I did find out how annoying it is to cut material/sew with the kitties around!!  lol

Leave a Reply

Categories

