Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | February 24, 2012

Furries…

So, if you are asking ‘what is a furry’ – click here – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Furry

So with that question out of the way…let’s move on!!  This whole topic just has my curiosity boiling over.  I wanna know everything about it!  I saw many furry costumes at the anime cons I’ve been too and I loved them all.  I am a Neko Girl myself so the furry topic appeals to me even more than I guess it would to other people.

I read on a website earlier that if you are an adult whose car has stuffed animals on the dash or you buy cereal cause of the cute tiger on the box or if you like to switch to the old cartoons, then you might be into furry fandom.  Well, umm…yeah, that’s me!!  And, I love wearing my kitty ears, tail and just recently added furry leg warmers and wrist cuffs (also called flufflies I believe).  My hubby bought me a full body Tigger costume years ago and guess what??  Oh yes, it still fits and oh yes, I will be wearing it at the next con we go to!!  lol

There are tons of people who create their own fursuits and some even light up and some have moving parts.  The full fursuits are very expensive which is why most furries have partials (head, tail, paws).  Think of your favorite team mascot – chances are, it’s a furry!!

I’ve always been a firm believer in that, just because something is not the status quo or is outside the norm doesn’t mean it’s bad.  In fact, sometimes just taking a second to research can bring you to a whole new world that you just might like. 

Check out http://www.anthrocon.org/ – it’s a con in PA and this year it’s scheduled for June 14 – June 17 and no, you don’t need to wear a costume to attend 🙂

And yes, I realize that furries might not be for you, but, ya gotta love the costumes!!  Don’t you just wanna run up and scratch their chins or pet their ears…lol

 

╔═╦╗╔╦═╦═╦╗╔╗
║═╣║║║╔╣╔╣╚╝║
║╔╣╚╝║║║║╚╗╔╝
╚╝╚══╩╝╚╝-.╚╝
Support Furries

Leave a Reply

Categories

