Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | February 15, 2012

Writing…

I was reading a fellow writer’s blog this morning (Cathy Brownfield – http://catsnovelchallenge.blogspot.com/) and came across this line:

“I’ve been working at this a long time, between the antics of my family. Now I must get serious about it. Get focused. Get busy writing…steadfast, persistent, determined.”

I realized when I read that…that was/is me!!  I have been writing since I was in elementary school – I can remember writing at night next to my window with whatever moonlight came thru.  I also used to sneak a flashlight into my room at times…lol… That’s a LONG time to be writing!!  Yes, I have been published, online and in print.  Just not as much as I think I should have been after all this time. 

I have to be honest, it’s not at all my family that keeps me from writing.  No no, they are all for it and are very supportive and are 100% behind me.  I think…I let life get in the way.  I tend to go thru spurts.  I also let my moods dictate my writing.  What do I mean?  Well, when I am down, depressed, bored, etc…I don’t write.  If I try to write, I can tell that it seems forced and the words are just being pulled one at a time from me.  It’s rather agonizing to be honest.  However, when I am upbeat and in great spirits, I just don’t feel like sitting down and writing.  I’d rather be out living life.  See, it’s a catch 22 for me…lol…

I just don’t understand myself…lol…I am usually a very determined person.  When I put my mind to something, I usually see it thru.  I have some awesome ideas but the thought of stopping whatever I am doing and putting said ideas to paper just sometimes seems to be too much work and so I don’t.  I get so aggravated with myself for losing so much time when I could be writing, writing and more writing. 

This is really why I started this blog.  To force myself to write something every day – even if it’s just a few ‘duh’ words – I wrote something.  Writing has always been a part of me.  It’s who I am.  I love love love creating worlds out of words.  There is nothing holding me back from success except…myself.

Responses

  1. That’s me too. I found that if I write before the world around me comes to life I am able to get two or three quality hours of writing in on my novel or blog. Then I have the rest of the day to go out and live and play with my new puppy.

    Like

  2. Awesome that a few of my words can set someone to thinking. And knowing that “I am not alone” is a wonderful thing. As I’m going through files of stories I have written over the years to put together a collection of my short stories, I am encouraged. I did not realize how many stories I have penned!

    Thanks for reading my blog, Tig. And for encouraging me.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

