Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | January 30, 2012

Day 29: Neck Strain?

So I went to the doctor (finally) about my neck and shoulder and after several x-rays (which were very cool btw!!), was diagnosed with neck strain.  HUH?  What exactly is that?  Well, it is a tear of a muscle or tendon.  It happens in a whiplash injury or from an awkward position while working or sleeping.  Well, that makes a lot of sense because I do sit at a desk all day for work.  And then I come home and sit in front of a computer and write…lol…Soooo I get to enjoy hot baths and muscle relaxants for a while!  yay me!!  lol

I also got neck exercises to do – and right now they don’t feel very good!!  I have even gone and gotten a neck pillow.  I’m not really liking it very much though.  I prefer to sleep propped up and this pillow is kinda awkward.  In any case, I’m trying to sit in a relaxed position and keeping a heating pad on my neck and shoulders – I mean, I can’t really stay in the shower all day!!

So seriously, get up and walk around even while at work.  Don’t sit in an awkward position all day – it can and does play havoc with your back!!

Responses

  1. I’m at a desk all day but I try to stretch as often as I think of it. Another thing I do is try to have good posture for at least several minutes a few times throughout the day. That helps keep things aligned but makes typing a little difficult.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

