Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | January 1, 2012

2012; New Year, New Beginnings…

Hello 2012!!!  I can only hope that you bring happiness, success and good health with you!!  2011 was a LONG year and was filled with tons of rocky roads and lots of hills.  While I do love roller coaster rides, I also enjoy standing on firm, solid ground.  A friend of mine suggested I look at the negative things as new beginnings.  Great piece of advice but, I’ll admit, kinda hard to do!!  Did I learn anything from 2011?  Yes!!  I learned I don’t like hospitals (or the food!!) and I LOVE anime cons!!  And I do have to admit to a certain enjoyment of techno music.  For me, 2011 was filled with a lot of ‘firsts’.  I went to my first scrapbooking party (that rekindled my love for scrapbooking!!).  I had my first surgery.  I had my first hospital stay.  I went to my first techno concert.  I went to my first anime con (and second…lol).  I also had my first piece of writing (poetry) published after a HUGE dry spell which kicked my writing into gear and right now I am working on self-publishing a book.  I also started and went to my first Meetup group (Writers Shelf) where I met quite a few like-minded people who also helped kick my writing into gear.  Oh!!  I also took my FIRST week-long vacation at Christmas!!  and I am talking a full week – not a 4 day weekend!!  Oh no, this was a total break from work and I spent it RELAXING and some writing – not much though.  I did absolutely nothing this week…lol…I did some shopping and went to two movies (Sherlock Holmes and Alvin & the Chipmunks, both of which were AWESOME!!) and slept late – hey, 9am is LATE for me!!  lol

So what do I hope to accomplish in 2012?  Well, I don’t do resolutions anymore as I find them to be a lot like diets – I either just quit or I cheat and well, end up quitting.  I do however, set goals for myself with deadlines.  I managed to lose 65 pounds in 2011 and want to lose 40 by June 2012.  If I end up losing more by December 31, 2012, that would be great too!!  I am also working at self publishing my children’s story in 2012.  And maybe my poetry book – who knows??  I am also planning to attend at least 4 more anime cons – one is in Maryland and the BIG one (Dragon Con) is in Atlanta, Georgia, Labor Day weekend – sooo excited!!  And of course, my daughter will be a senior in high school (EEEEK) and will be making preparations for graduation and college (double EEEEK).

So, I hope 2012 is a fantastic year for everyone and it brings happiness, success and health to you and yours!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

