Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | October 31, 2011

Trick or Treat!!

Today was windy and sunny.  Perfect day for trick or treaters.  I love Halloween – always have – it’s right next to Christmas for me.  I have noticed that more and more people are starting to decorate their yards and houses for Halloween – not all are scary or spooky, a lot just have lights and a zillion pumpkins.  I personally have an 8′ blow up vampire Tigger, orange lights in my windows, a skeleton bride on my front door and a Halloween flag.  I remember one year this little tot was crying and refused to come to my door because she was scared of Tigger.  I felt bad so I walked out to her in the street and gave her candy.  She smiled thru her tears and walked away, still looking at Tigger who swayed gently in the breeze.  Ever since then I’ve been hesitant about putting him up, but, I love Tigger and it wouldn’t be Halloween without him, so, up he goes!!  I can remember my daughter complaining about the contents of her oversized goody bag so I try to make sure I get the ‘good’ candy(fun size)…you know, 3 Musketeers, Reese’s, Hershey’s, Snickers, etc.  Every year I put on a Halloween shirt and my Tigger ears and wait for the little goblins and witches and fairies to ring my bell.  Tonight was no different.  I had barely started dinner when the doorbell rang – it was right around 5:30 – they were early!!  I run thru the house and grab the candy bowl as I open the door, not sure what to expect.  I was greeted to a little supergirl and a jumping monkey who I swear looked like Stitch from Lilo and Stitch – cute, nonetheless.  From there it just poured fairies and cheerleaders and zombies – not one single witch though!!  One little guy greeted me with ‘Trick or Treat, smell my feet, give me something good to eat’ – I of course obliged him with several candy bars.  Some of the parents were dressed as well, that is always entertaining!!  I think it’s their one time they can be a kid in public and get away with it.  Me, I’m always a kid!!  All too soon though, it ended.  8pm sharp.  I looked up and down the street for stragglers but none were in sight.  I still had lots of candy left – which of course, my 16-year-old offered to help get rid of!!  I turned the lights off and took the Tigger ears off.  Trick or treat was over…til next year…

Leave a Reply

Categories

