Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | September 28, 2011

Celebrate Kelly…

Yesterday marked another year without my sister, Kelly.  It was hard to wake up and realize that that was the day my life changed forever, without warning.  I hate September 27th – always will.  I have decided that September 27th will be a day of celebrating all things Kelly.  So yesterday, as usual, I played ‘Gone with the Wind’ and ‘Rescuers’ – both were her favorite movies – I was going to play ‘Cinderella’ cause she loved Gus Gus but I couldn’t find the dvd so, maybe next year.  I am thankful that I was kept busy at work. It kept my mind focused – for the most part off what the day really meant. 

Over the past three years, I’ve heard stories from various people about how they don’t talk to their siblings, they had a falling out, they live too far away from each other, yada yada yada.  I lived 2 hours away from my sister.  We talked every evening after work.  She would come down during the summer for a weekend and sometimes she would even come down in March for my birthday.  And of course we always saw each other for the holidays.  I could not imagine not talking to her every day or seeing her several times a year.  Even when she lived in Chicago, we still talked all the time.  It really stunk that she lived so far away, but then, we were close sisters. 

Oh don’t get me wrong, we had fights.  Knock-down, drag-out fights.  Fights where things were said and later regretted.  When we were younger, she used to sit on me, literally!!!  But, she was my sister.  I don’t know why that meant anything differently to me than it does to someone else who no longer talks to their siblings, but, we always said we were sorry (she usually called first to apologize…lol) and we always said ‘I love you’ after each phone call.  Oh I understand that there are things that siblings can do that you just can’t forgive or forget.  And I’m lucky that my sister, even with all the things we did do to each other, we did forgive each other.  Those who know me well, know I don’t forgive easily and I tend to hold grudges (yeah yeah).  But it was Kelly.

My sister was the type of person who would bend over backwards to help anyone and everyone.  She never put herself first.  She loved fiercely and protected her own like a mother bear.  There is no doubt in my mind that she loved me.  And would do anything for me.  That was the type of person she was.  Those who worked with her couldn’t say enough nice things about Kelly at her funeral.  They all said she was kind-hearted, sweet and giving – always ready to lend a hand.

The day she died was just like any other day.  But my life will never be the same without her.  She may be gone, but she will never be forgotten.  She will always be in our hearts and memories.  September 27th will be a day to celebrate life…to celebrate Kelly.

Leave a Reply

Categories

