Posted by: S. Elisabeth M. Abbott | September 20, 2011

Only Human…

Soooo I went on that walk again.  And I found out my entire walk was 4.26 miles – WOOT WOOT!!  YAY ME!!!  My goal was to get to 5 miles/day by end of the year and I kinda thought that was farfetched but, well, maybe not!!  I have been doing this walk for almost two weeks now.  Sometimes I get so frustrated because the scales just don’t show how hard I have been working – yes, let’s not think about that chocolate ice cream blizzard I got over the weekend!!  lol

Seriously though, I do try really hard to be good and eat ‘healthy’ but I am SOOOOOO sick of having to eat healthy – yeah yeah I know.  I do have a choice.  I can eat healthy and have tons of energy (sometimes) and fit into my skinny jeans or I can eat nasty greasy fast food and feel sick and not want to get off the couch after I eat much less fit into the clothes left in my closet!!! 

Sigh…I know I know.  Between you and me, I have a good angel and a naughty angel – one on each shoulder.  The naughty angel is in my ear telling me to just splurge and go for that yummy tasting chocolate glazed donut and the good angel is shaking her finger at me, telling me I should eat a bowel of Cheerio’s instead.  I’m not going to lie, the naughty angel wins her fair share!!

The one thing I can’t cheat on though is the walking.  There are mornings when I just don’t feel like walking the 4 miles.  I don’t feel like getting dressed and forcing myself down the street.  But I know that the one day I cave and don’t, that will just start a downward spiral and I have worked too hard to get to where I am now.  Yes, even when I cave and eat a yummy chocolate glazed donut or a chocolate ice cream blizzard….oohhhh…drooling at the thought!!!

So I force myself to stay on the path I have chosen.  For me, this path is never-ending.  I have to continue to eat healthy and I have to continue to walk.  I can’t fall off, and honestly, it’s only at 5:30am that I really groan and pout as I am leaving my warm bed to go burn off x number of calories.  By the time I get home, I am wide awake and ready to start my day.  Usually with a burst of energy and a rumbling tummy!!! 

Chalk that victory up to the good angel  🙂

Responses

  1. Elisabeth:
    Don’t let yourself become enslaved by the “weight” and “healthy” stuff. You and I have been friends for a LONG time. Neither of us is what we were when we all met. I know I had that tremendous weight loss, but that was from my lap-band. Yes, I DO feel healthier, I feel better in many ways, but the price I pay – not being able to enjoy a McD’s Quarter Pounder, or French Fries, without tossing my cookies – is just not worth it.

    There are a LOT of things we can do to help out with what we have to work with. I take one aspirin per day, to help keep the blood thinned down. I also take a 10mg melatonin to keep my AC1 levels down in the normal range, to ensure my Type II Diabetes does not adversely affect me too much.

    Elisabeth, you have always been a lovely woman, despite what others may imply. You should watch that show “Big Sexy” and get the attitude. You don’t have to be a size 3 to be beautiful. You don’t have to have a “perfect” figure or be a blonde, or have a body builder’s body. You have to be happy with YOURSELF.

    The only reason I am working a wee bit harder with my health is my more advanced age – remember, you are 36, I am 57. You probably have more time than I have. 🙂

    You are beautiful – keep that in your mind. And I am not the only one who feels that way.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

